Flattery is re-elected mayor pro tem; Committee chairs chosen

Following Tuesday morning’s inauguration ceremony, the Fort Dodge City Council had a brief business meeting to take care of some organizational details.

During that session, Councilman Dave Flattery was re-elected as mayor pro tem. That means he will preside over meetings and perform other mayoral functions when Mayor Matt Bemrich is not available.

Councilman Kim Alstott was elected dean of the council. He will preside over the meetings if neither Bemrich or Flattery is available.

The councilmembers also decided who will lead committees. The council has seven committees tasked with studying issues and making recommendations to the full council. The committees have not been active recently, and the entire council has been addressing issues together during workshop sessions. However, the committee structure remains in place.

Alstott will lead the Ways and Means Committee, which specializes in money matters.

Flattery will lead the Planning and Community Development Committee.

Councilman Dean Hill will be the chairman of the Utilities Committee.

Councilman Terry Moehnke will be the chairman of the Engineering and Streets Committee.

Councilman Neven Conrad will lead the Boards and Commissions Committee.

Councilman Jeff Halter will lead the Leisure Time Committee.

Councilwoman Lydia Schuur will lead the Public Safety Committee.

The remaining committee members will be picked during the council’s meeting on Monday.



City inauguration