AHS students compete at festival

Algona High School musicians participated in the Iowa High School Music Association’s State Solo/Small Ensemble festival on March 25 at Humboldt High School. The musicians presented many fine performances and received great evaluations from adjudicators. Out of 43 AHS instrumental performances, 22 Division I (superior) ratings, 18 Division II (excellent) ratings, two Division III (good) ratings, and one Division IV (fair) were awarded. Out of 29 AHS vocal performances, nine Division I ratings, 12 Division II ratings, six Division III, and two Comments Only were awarded.

Instrumental students earning three or more Division I ratings were Elle Feucht (3), Kylie Weier (3), Shelby Weier (4), Sam Hood (6), Adam Schonert (3), Kellen Schmidt (3), Carson Simpson (3), and Rebecca Hommez (4).

Vocal students earning three or more Division I ratings were: Anna Cox (3), Mallory Zwiefel (3), Kelsey Connick (3), Mikaela Cooper (3), Theo Herbst-Ulmer (4), Cameron Kaltschnee (4), Sophie Curtis (3) and Myra Meyer (3).

The accompanists were vital to the success of performances presented by AHS musicians. Trevor Green, Bonita Meyer, Carter Nath, Rita Prunty, Erin Schmidt, Kris Schonert, and Moni Westling supported the students. The Algona High School music students are under the direction of Jamie Kelley and Kurt Kissinger.